Symbols and Meaning.

“Whichever one you choose, just know that each one has a meaning. Here in Ghana, everything has meaning.”

Chantelle and I were in Kumasi, wandering around the national cultural centre and as usual someone was trying to sell us something.  But then I thought about it and realized that he had a point. EVERYthing in Ghana has a meaning.

A few years back I got my second tattoo – a Akan  symbol on my back. It’s called  “Nyame Nti,” which means “By God’s Grace.” It’s one of plenty Adinkra symbols, each with it’s own distinct meaning. I’ve seen them not only on crafts, or on clothing, but also on signs, on doors, on pamplets, and even on the stones that carve the very foundation of the buildings here. They are more than just pictures, or objects, but that are woven into life here – with purpose. There are the familiar ones, of Sankofa and Gye Nyame, which remind us “go back and get it,” and their is no higher being “except God.” But there are also others that signify endurance, authority, commitment, understanding, harmony, guardianship, protection, learning etc.

And then there are the names. Never before have I met so many children or so many adults with names so purposeful. During my time in Ghana I was given two other names: my Islamic name – “Khadijah” – the name of Muhammad’s first wife, and my Ghanaian name – Abena, which is given to girls born on a Tuesday. I was asked more than once – “What day were you born on.” And When I answered with an “I don’t know,” I often got confused stares in return. “You have to know what day of the week you were born on…it carries meaning.” And so I quickly learned that every Kwame I met – must’ve been born on a Saturday. That every Kofi was Friday’s child. That each  Akua and Kwaku came on a Wednesday, and that yes, every Ama was also welcomed on a Saturday. But outside of the Afia’s and the Kwasi’s there were other names too.

Comfort. Patience. Grace – both boy and girl. Kingsley. Prince. Princess. Gifty. Christian. Rose. Justice. Courage. Rejoice. And wisdom. Many of my students, folks I interviewed, or people I met otherwise had such wonderful names – such regal, and meaningful names. In Cape Coast, I even met a man who introduced himself as “Nice To Be Nice.” Although I’m still unsure if that was his given name or a chosen name, I am sure that thought went into it. To be able to call himself Nice To Be Nice is to almost implore those around him to listen to his name and to respond in kind.  

So then I thought: to purposefully give a name, or to show a symbol, is to claim it. To speak all of its power into existence in and over your life whether that means daily courage, or everlasting Grace, or simply that you are Tuesday’s child who eager and able navigate all of her other days. 

 

This entry was published on August 14, 2014 at 6:33 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment